Kadambari

Kādambari is a romantic novel in Sanskrit. [...] This work can be plausibly claimed to be one of the first novels in the world; making due allowance for the ambiguities of such a classification. In fact, two modern Indian languages (Kannada and Marathi) use 'kadambari' as a generic term for a romance or a novel.

From Wikipedia

This website, Kadambari, is a "book" on everything I've learned about the art, craft, and business on writing over the last eight years.

It will be published one blog post at a time, and supported by readers like you. There will be no ads, no paywalls. Just your support at $1 a month (or more if you choose to).

More specifically, I will be writing 200 posts over the next 12 months, with the goal to make US$10,300. The project will end when this goal is reached. Read more here.

Support Kadambari here.

About Me

I'm Ratika Deshpande, a writer, reader, blogger, daughter, and daydreamer. I work as a freelance writer and will soon be starting my MA in Education. My articles have appeared in Reactor magazine, Authors Publish magazine, Submittable, and The Learning Scientists blog.

I also run The Metronome, an online project aimed at people who want to study psychology and make a career in the field.

I earned my B.A. (Honours) in Applied Psychology from the University of Delhi. Born in Indore, I studied in Nagpur and New Delhi, where I'm currently based. I love fantasy books, Studio Ghibli movies, and cooking. I'm fluent in Marathi, Hindi, and English, and am currently pondering learning Sanskrit and a foreign language.

Credo

I don't have to get it right the first time; there's no one good way of doing things. I can always go back and change things, make them better.

I can start now and put out something imperfect. Perfectionist thoughts have been holding me back, as if I'm working with something unchangeable, and that it is somehow embarrassing to put out work that is not perfect, that is not as good as it can possibly be.

But words are malleable, and so are people and the things they make. It's a horrifying yet wonderful thing about us. And here I choose to focus on the wonderful.

As time, ideas, findings, me, and my knowledge change, so will the stuff I put up here. It might be imperfect even after decades, but if 99% of it was good and helped someone, then in the long run, that 1% wouldn't matter so much. To refer to one of my favorite quotes, we're not operating on brains, after all. We can get it wrong and the world would still be okay.

“The beautiful part of writing is that you don't have to get it right the first time, unlike, say, a brain surgeon.”

Robert Cormier